Wear your confidence!

WEAR YOUR CONFIDENCE! (AMA Mr. & Ms. Freshmen 2014)

10443503_791070250924650_6076027917408713101_n

Therefore do not throw away your confidence, which has a great reward. For you have need of endurance, so that when you have done the will of God you may receive what is promised. (Hebrews 10:35-36 ESV)

Never in my dreams would I have thought about joining a pageant or any contest related to beauty or what. No wait, scratch that off. Never in my dreams would I even imagine myself ramping at the stage in front of many people. like woah. I was not like the other young pretty girls stands in their won sash and tiara in their room. And yeah, I was blessed to walk across the stage wearing this CONFIDENCE that came from God.

Speaking of CONFIDENCE. That was the question on Q & A Portion. (An unexpected Q&A Portion)

How will you compare your confidence compare to other contestants?

Hahaha. Sorry I don’t even remember the answer that I said. I just said whats in my heart and mind. lol, I don’t even know what I’m saying in front of many people. <like woah. do I look embarrassing?> But I remember a lil’bit of it. I said – I can say that I have more confidence than the other contestants because I already ask God for a Confidence & for wisdom. I already catch the confidence to face in front of all of you. And blah blah blah.

collage1

The first thing that comes in my mind is I think God has a purpose why He let me to join with this. At the very first place, I don’t really want to join at Mr. & Ms. Freshmen 2014. But I have no choice; my classmates already listed down my name. And I was like Me? Me? Me? Ayaw ayaw ayaw! I was so self-pity that time, I was thinkin’ that I’m not beautiful. I’m chubby. I don’t want to wear dresses. I don’t want make-ups. I can’t walk like a real model. I’m not good in proper posture. I don’t want those things. Because I know I’m not really called for that. Ever since, I don’t join any competition like that. But when Sir Sibayan already push me to join in. I was OK. Let’s try! I know God will never let me down. He will never put me in this competition just to have fun like wala lang. I know He has a purpose.

And definitely yes, I realize that because of that it allows me to boost up my self-confidence. Honestly, sometimes I don’t have a confidence. It helps me a lot all within a competitive atmosphere. That was the struggle that I’ve been experiencing right now, and that’s why God really use that Mr. & Ms. Freshmen 2014 to make me realize that Confidence is very important. I realize it when I’m about to answer at Q & A portion. I was able to handle the blow on my confidence and self-esteem. My mind said “I’m the daughter of God, then I’m beautiful and I’m intelligent” Kaya ko to! That’s why I hit that Q&A portion with full of confidence. Oha oha oha!

cats1

Participating in this and having a strong self-image can often go hand in hand. It’s a wonderful experience. I think the very best part about my Mr. & Ms. Freshmen experience so far is that it has given me a chance to be heard on something that is very important to me. And that is my GOD. (When I’m about to answer at Q&A portion) I was able to tell everyone that my God is the one who gives me confidence! “SI Lord lang po yung tangi kong maipagmamalaki sa inyo”

Everything you do, DO IT ALL FOR THE GLORY OF GOD! I believe that everything happens a while ago is because of His mercy and goodness in my life. For all the skills, talents, wisdoms, strengths, knowledge and yea confidence is come from our King of all kings. Praise God for that!

So we can confidently say, “The Lord is my helper; I will not fear; what can man do to me?” (Hebrews 13:ESV)

The right winner wins at the right time”. That was the first time I joined a competition like that but I won. It’s really a wonderful feeling. I was not that expecting much. But early in the morning I do my devotion. And I was about to pray to God to help me. And when we already ramp I was praying na ‘Lord, wag po sana ko madapa’ hahahaha. Isn’t funny? And grabe, so init talaga. And the crowd was about to shout-out their bets. After doing that ramp and Q&A portion. It’s time for awarding. While calling the other winners. I was like ohw, mukhang waley ako ah. Hehehe, After announcing the 2nd runner up and 1st runner up, last na, champion. Mr. Freshmen 2014 – #9 oh oh oh oh. Si Jef yun ah. Last na talaga. I was about to pray; Lord, Lord, Lord, favor favor favor. Tuuugdugtuuugduuuug. Ms. Freshmen 2014 – #9 Woaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah! Like woaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah! Me? Me? Seriously? Until I got on stage I was still shocked. Woooooooooah grabe! The crowd was shouting phelpsi, baby phelps. Wawahhh! Hahahaha. And while walking upstairs, I was shouting THANK YOU LORD! And after getting my sash and prize, I was shouting GLORY TO GOD. Expect the unexpected. Grabe! How I could I imagine that? I’m such a blessed girl here :”>

God was the one who brought me in this kind of competition to honor Him and to glorify Him in any way that He wanted and for that I want to give a Big Big Thank you to God. All praises, glory, honor and adoration to Him!! Para kay Lord to!!

cats2

This pageant really got the gears in my mind turning and I began to think, “What really defines beauty?” Is it clothes from overrated retailers like Abercrombie & Fitch, Hollister, Candies, Folded and Hung or Forever 21? Is it faces trapped in a mask of unnatural make-up? Is it obtaining a body that resembles a beanpole?

10408814_10202388876349768_4978582585832349532_n

For me, No. It’s not. What honestly defines beauty is one’s personality. One’s attitude. One’s true self. One’s heart. PUSO BAGO MUKHA! Hehehe. Amazing pageant contestants are the one who put a smile on face, let out a laugh, and have a little fun. Because that is, and always will be, the definition true beauty. Speaking of putting a smile on your face hahaha, a while ago, I told jef “Sakit na ng panga ko tagal ngumiti” Hahaha. Just wear your big big smile girls. Wear a smile on your lips as often as you can, learn to smile, smile when you say hello to people, learn to find something to smile about, when you become conscious of this, it will be a surprise to you to find that there are more things to smile about than to frown about. A smile brightens up your day and makes someone else feel much better, you can never go wrong with a smile. For a true beauty queen, it’s not about the title, or the crown or attention; it’s about the experience. It’s about feeling beautiful and knowing even when you don’t win, you have never felt more beautiful than you did that night. It’s about making new friends, it’s about learning style, grace, poise and how to speak in front of people. In the end if nothing else, you take away from the experience a greater sense of self-worth and accomplishment. That is a pretty great prize.

10404526_10202388913350693_186371510995194847_n

10422561_791071087591233_7932283463569086583_nNaturally I would have been beyond nervous, but much to my surprise.  And also very freeing to show them who am I. I was happy to present me — just the way I am, and just the way God made me. I am glad to have taken the experience. 

So much for now. Thank you, God. Thank you for the Grace. Thank you for those people who help me to make over <esp. Liriel Alferez> and for those who cheer me! Thanks CA! Thanks Vikings!

10449499_791071204257888_1049785468379971457_n

You are altogether beautiful, my love; there is no flaw in you. (Song of Solomon 4:7 ESV)

Tiaras! Walk in with confidence!

Confidence1

5 thoughts on “Wear your confidence!”

  1. Ang tunay na kagandahan nanggagaling sa puso tas nagrereflect sa face — ikaw na ikaw 🙂

Leave a Reply

